first_imgWhile each of the three teams which took part in the While each of the three teams which took part in the first edition last year and are continuing this year — Mumbai, Hyderabad and Chandigarh — had the option of retaining one player, only Hyderabad did so by retaining Hingis. Amritraj explained that some minor changes have been made to the format of the matches so that they fit into the time slot of two and a half hours, suitable for broadcasters Sony Six. “Last year, when we had two matches per day and most of the matches were close, each day play got extended upto three and a half hours or more. So we had to make some changes so that this time around only one match (tie) will be held per day with a 7 PM start and an expected 9:30-9:45 PM end,” the former Wimbledon mens singles quarter finalist said. “Each match would comprise one set only (same as last year) but this year the set would be played to 5 games instead of 6. Sets can be won from 5-0 to 5-4 and if its 4-all a 9-point tie-break would be held,” he said. The format remains the same: Legends singles, ATP players singles, WTA players singles, mens doubles and mixed doubles. Similar to the first edition, each team will have one Indian senior mens player in its rolls, along with two juniors – a boy and a girl – recommended by the All India Tennis Association as per their rankings. The senior players who would be seen are Saket Myneni (Chandigarh), Jeevan Nedunchezhiyan (Hyderabad), Sriram Balaji (Mumbai), Divij Sharan (Nagpur), Ramkumar Ramanathan (Raipur) and Vishnu Vardhan (unnamed team). (More) PTI SSR NRB PM PM SDMadvertisementlast_img

Leave a Reply